Browse FAQs

How does the PowerSCADA Expert alarm priority correspond with Event Notification Module severity?

Published date: 27 March 2019

Each alarm in PowerSCADA Expert has an alarm category. The alarm categories each have an associated priority. An user would like to know how this priority corresponds to the severity field they see in Event Notification Module so that they can setup alarm filters appropriately. 

Product Line
Powerlogic Scada 7.20
PowerSCADA Expert 7.30/7.40
PowerSCADA Expert 8.0/8.1/8.2

Event Notification Module Configuration

The correspondence between the PowerSCADA Expert alarm priorities and Event Nonfiction Module depends on the versions in use.

PLS 7.2 / PSE 7.30 / PSE 7.40
The following formula is used to determine ENM severities based on the above PSE versions:
ENM Severity = 1000 - PSE Priority + 1

Example: For PSE priority 2, the ENM severity to set in this screen is: (1000 - 2 +1) =999
For PSE priority 0, ENM assigns a severity of 1. 

PSE 8.0 / PSE 8.1 / PSE 8.2 
The PSE priority and ENM severity have been changed to a one-to-one structure. (ENM 8.3 and above)

See the below relations:
PSE Priority 1 (HIGH) = ENM Severity 1
PSE Priority 2 (MEDIUM) = ENM Severity 2
PSE Priority 3 (LOW) = ENM Severity 3
PSE Priority 0 (EVENT) = ENM Severity 0

Note: ENM Classic is no longer support in PSO 9.0. You must migrate to PSO 9.0 Notifications

Was this helpful?

What can we do to improve the information ?

Can't find what you are looking for?

Reach out to our customer care team to receive information on technical support, assistance for complaints and more.